En-dope-phins

So, sometimes I have to really force myself to work out. Especially when that workout entails cardio. Like everyone else, I have a love/hate relationship with cardio. (If you say you love it, shut up and stop lying.) No one straight up loves cardio. They might love the feeling afterwards, but they don’t love all the [literal] steps leading up to that feeling; all that huffing, puffing, blowing houses down, red-faced ish. Nah.

But that “feeling” afterwards. Right when you’re finished with those three miles or those twenty minutes or that HIIT workout (100 burpee burnout anyone?), you feel SO accomplished. Like today, I pushed myself harder than I normally do and I lost sensation in my teeth and mouth—that happen to anyone else?—and I was like WHOA let’s not throw up on the gym floor, yeah? Afterwards though, I felt great. I felt like I could run another two miles. (But I didn’t. Because that would be a little too ambitious.)

Endorphins are natural hormones that make you feel empowered and invigorated and good about yourself, don’t ask me how, but they just magically do. AND IT’S GREAT.

But it’s not what keeps me going back to cardio. What keeps me going back to cardio is being able to order Thai take-out  and eat a tub of Ben & Jerry’s after an intense cardio session. That’s a real life #confession folks.

Ben & Jerry's Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Ice Cream

Cookie dough ice cream is one of the best things in life.

Happy Saturday night :) I know I’M happy right now, all filled with that deliciousness.

Oh, btw, someone give me a high-five for that dope title. C’mon.

-Shirley

Leave Me Somethin'

